D L Henderson
5 min readJan 7, 2024

--

1/7/24

Maybe we are talking past each other like ships passing in the night...

Any facet of life or dynamic of the Universe needs to be studied if a person wants more understanding and insight in order to, for example, to understand Global Warming. I'm a home gardener and am attuned to such things as weather in relation to planting times and watering needs. So, I am careful to watch the weather and also am keenly aware of the subtle changes in Climate, as in knowing the first frost and last frost dates (which seems to have changed by several weeks).

Therefore, I have come to realize that Global Warming is a real dynamic. It is not just "my truth." It is truth.

So, I do not understand your objection to studying the Bible for greater awareness and understanding and application of revealed truth.

Now, way back when, in Jolly Olde England, KIng James had a constant problem with the Pope in Rome. There were actually wars between Catholics and Anglicans. Perhaps to goad Pope Urban VIII or perhaps for higher moral reasons, King James ordered the Latin Vulgate to be translated into the common English vernacular. Basically, this was done so ordinary people could understand it. After I was born again, the King James Version was what was available to me, and that is what I began reading. Due to its outmoded language, there were many ideas hidden from me. The NKJV soon followed, but there were still language problems. Other translations were available, and now there are dozens. Which is the correct one? I use several in pursuit of understanding. Then, Greek and Hebrew Dictionaries. All are correct. Translators continue their efforts and ancient secular writings sometimes reveal fuller meanings of Greek texts.

Maybe you should Google how the Bible is translated, or, for personal experience, try translating a book written in Portuguese into Scandinavian... Good luck.

I, too, have found the problem or misunderstandings developed into errant doctrine and have been spending the last few years attempting to rectify the problem, sharing what I have learned. Usually, the root of the problem is taking ideas out of context... the context of a verse, a paragraph, a book, and the context of the entire Bible - both Old and New Testaments. Context and culture do have relevance.

Keeping in mind that Jesus said "You must be born of water (natural childbirth) and the Spirit (God's supernatural birth) in order to see the kingdom of God. That is, we are born with eyes in order to see the world, and we must be born again in order to see the supernatural world. And "For since in the wisdom of God the world through its wisdom did not know him, God was pleased through the foolishness of what was preached to save those who believe." - 1 Corinthians 1:21, NIV.

That's not a point of argument. It's just a matter of fact - like gravity.

Most of my life, I didn't believe, but there was a time in my life that I hoped, I wished God existed. And when my hope was satisfied, I began to believe. I wasn't born with faith, but I heard the Bible stories, and when push came to shove my faith was born.

Again we should not be arguing about words, because the languages of the Bible are logos (Greek) ideas, and should be considered as phrases. Like artists using oils, the consideration of their work is not on the individual colors of the paint on the artists' palette, but on the finished work. A student might investigate technique and how the paint was made, but ordinary people are meant only to appreciate the work - maybe even be amazed or awed by it.

I don't write to make people believe what I believe, but only to encourage them to appreciate the artwork of the Bible and perhaps consider being amazed by the Artist. Like the Creation, it is an amazing and awesome work.

So, why do people have differences, doctrines, and convictions?

I can only surmise. Pridefulness? Overthinking? Reliance on one's own intellect? Relying on what experts tell you? Look at the prophet Isaiah 55:6-9, ibid:

Seek the LORD while you can find him.

Call on him now while he is near.

Let the wicked change their ways and banish the very thought of doing wrong.

Let them turn to the LORD that he may have mercy on them.

Yes, turn to our God, for he will forgive generously.

“My thoughts are nothing like your thoughts,” says the LORD.

“And my ways are far beyond anything you could imagine.

For just as the heavens are higher than the earth,

so my ways are higher than your ways

and my thoughts higher than your thoughts.

It's football day here and the coaches' thoughts are higher and better than mine, and the quarterback's and the middle linebacker's, as well. I know that, but like any good armchair quarterback, I will yell at the TV, "That was a stupid call!" Then the very smart Announcers will explain it to me, and maybe I will learn - or maybe I won't. It is, again, my choice.

Finally, disagreements interweave any topic. It is no different when discussing God, Jesus, and the Bible. Yet, it cannot be limited to an intellectual exercise, since by intellectual assent no one can reach God - no more than the Tower of Babel succeeded in reaching the kingdom of heaven!

As for philosophy, someone once asked, "What is truth?" Is it situational? Is it fluid? Is it impossible to discern?

Reality. I live in a meat and potatoes world. To succeed in it, I need to know its truth. I learn from educators about its truth. I learned from my parents, classmates, friends, coworkers, and the School of Hard Knocks its reality, its practicality. My approach to understanding the Bible reflects that truth. Can the precepts be applied to my meat and potatoes living? Does it improve my life inside and out in practical, realistic, and sensible ways?

Well, yes. It has. That is how I know "my" way is not the errant way. It is the strait and narrow that works, no matter what hardships arise.

You can choose to look and to seek it out, or you can choose to throw stones. But I think your aim is off and the stones are falling short of the target, because you cannot clearly see the target.

You have been creating a false dilemma. Other alternatives exist, not imprisoned by limiting the choices. It may be a good defensive strategy, but it also prevents honest discussion.

(By the way, quit trying to put words in my mouth and then, condemning me for them. Also, I would note that you are making hasty generalizations, including about me.)

Anyways, as to answer your statement that "the Bible is the claim and not the evidence," and, pay attention now and hang on to your shorts: The Bible is both

Evidence and Claim, based on real lives lived out, warts and all, and God's interaction with the imperfect people living those lives.. "Consequently, faith comes from hearing the message, and the message is heard through the word about Christ." Romans 10:17, ibid.

--

--

D L Henderson

Born 1950; HS 1968; Born again 1972; Cornell ILR; Steward, Local President/Business Agent; Husband, father, grandfather; winner/loser/everything in between