Active Hovering

D L Henderson
2 min readJan 21, 2022

As in the beginning of Creation, recorded in Genesis, wherein “…the Spirit of God was hovering over the waters,” the definition of “waters” could be “the expanse.” Finding the full understanding of this “expanse” is troublesome for everyone. It is all speculative: The Hebrew writing is much like Chinese in appearance, more pictorial than the Arabic letters we are used to.

So, thinking in more general terms, the important point is that the Holy Spirit was very active in the Creation. It is the same today. The Holy Spirit is very active in creating the new person inside of those who turn to Him. He is creating something out of nothing really. God will create a new person within… if one chooses to accept Jesus into their heart “… if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: The old has gone, the new is here!” (2 Corinthians 5:17, NIV) The Holy Spirit easily overpowers the sinful nature which imprisons us but preserves the person who we are. A delicate surgery perhaps, but God made us and can easily accomplish it. “For the word of God is alive and active. sharper than any double-edged sword [scalpel], it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart.” (Hebrews 4:12, NIV) and “Then Jesus declared, ‘I am the bread of life. Whoever comes to me will never go hungry, and whoever believes in me will never be thirsty.’” (John 6:35, NIV) and “All those the Father gives me will come to me, and whoever comes to me I will never drive away.” (John 6:37, NIV) The difficult thing for us humans is to let go and let God. When I was in the ER, facing death, I had to let go and let God. That had become my habit for a decade before — since the day I had been born again. The start of my walk, somewhere in the middle, heading toward the end, now continuing to walk the path Jesus has set before me. Begin with Jesus, letting go of the incidentals, and be free to let the Holy Spirit accomplish a new work in you. New and improved… Isn’t that what everyone is looking for?

--

--

D L Henderson

Born 1950; HS 1968; Born again 1972; Cornell ILR; Steward, Local President/Business Agent; Husband, father, grandfather; winner/loser/everything in between