D L Henderson
1 min readApr 22, 2024

--

Agreeing with your essay 99,9%, yet, I get in this discussion with my wife, regarding the indwelling of the Holy Spirit...

The KJV is my backup as I have not found this distinction in other translations... "Ye" and thou. "Ye" meaning y'all as a group and "thou" meaning you, as an individual. Knowing this makes understanding all the verses you quoted a little bit clearer, as in the difference between "Where two or three of you are gathered together...." and "And I will ask the Father, and he will give you another Advocate, who will never leave you;" the Paraclete being the family attorney in ancient Greece...

I refer to the individual relationship as the nutritious sap of conversation flowing through the branches of the olive tree or grape vine nourishing the fruit ...

As individuals, yes, we need the Council of the Holy Spirit, but within a group He is there present with us and working among us... Small detail, I know, and I don't mean it to be a point of contention...

--

--

D L Henderson

Born 1950; HS 1968; Born again 1972; Cornell ILR; Steward, Local President/Business Agent; Husband, father, grandfather; winner/loser/everything in between