D L Henderson
1 min readMar 24, 2024

--

Ever since I was a teenager, I have been a binge alcoholic. When drugs were introduced into my life, marijuana. hashish, and LSD became my go-to choices. Luckily, they were also part of a culture for seeking transcendent values and purposes. Long story short, I was rescued by Jesus, born again. cleansed, and given a start in a new life that actually was transcendent in values and purposes. The drugs and alcohol disappeared from my life for decades. Unfortunately, even though forewarned about its dangers as a Union Rep, I fell slowly back into the soup - until I lost both my job and therefore my Union career. ( It's amazing how much one can drink...in a Bar... with a credit card... ) Under counselling, I learned the term "binge alcoholic."

I now live a rather reclusive life, and limit my drinking to one or two whiskey and water at night and never go to bars or parties. My wife supervises, and so, I rarely wander from those boundaries and strictly private indulgence which I don't offer to anyone else.

--

--

D L Henderson

Born 1950; HS 1968; Born again 1972; Cornell ILR; Steward, Local President/Business Agent; Husband, father, grandfather; winner/loser/everything in between