D L Henderson
1 min readOct 27, 2023

--

I agree with what you say. I was unaware of people using that passage as an excuse. Yet, I use it when someone misquotes or misunderstands the Bible, using individual verses to twist what the true message into something it is not. People who only have a cursory reading cannot possibly begin to understand what is being said or why trials are in their lives. They should read "James, a servant of God and of the Lord Jesus Christ, To the twelve tribes of the Dispersion: Greetings. Consider it pure joy, my brothers, when you encounter trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance.…" Berean Standard Bible. Or they should take it to the bank what Jesus said, " and "I have told you these things so that in Me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation. But take courage; I have overcome the world!” ibid.

--

--

D L Henderson

Born 1950; HS 1968; Born again 1972; Cornell ILR; Steward, Local President/Business Agent; Husband, father, grandfather; winner/loser/everything in between