D L Henderson
May 7, 2024

--

I certainly agree that faith is a verb.

I am hesitant to bring up anything about this essay that might be considered negative, but I believe I should point our that "The Message" is a paraphrase which I have found to have personal opinions instead of translation and say things that may be true enough, but the verse paraphrased does not say what the Greek text says. One more point, when you claim "what he’s really saying is," you might be correct in part, but you also might be putting "what he is really saying" in a box when the Apostle's meaning is more dynamic - that is, higher, broader, deeper with manifold though heterogeneous applications... But again , you certainly get it right when you wrote, "Love is action, faith is a verb, and only from that comes our best theology."

--

--

D L Henderson

Born 1950; HS 1968; Born again 1972; Cornell ILR; Steward, Local President/Business Agent; Husband, father, grandfather; winner/loser/everything in between