D L Henderson
2 min readMay 2, 2024

--

I had a dream about "hell" once. Paired with my studied understanding from the Parable of the Rich Man and Lazarus, I think I have a good perspective.

First we all have a soul, the spirit inside of us, the inner person. That soul is eternal. When a person dies physically, that soul has to go somewhere. So the parable names the two either/or places. Lazarus went to Abraham's Bosom. The rich man went to "Sheol". The latter is a very dry place - which could mean actually no water to drink and/or no words from God to soothe the soul. That would feel like kind of a burning yearning, I suppose.

As for the description, in my dream I saw a dilapidated city which had no color except for a grayish sepia appearance. Looking around, people could not be found. Where I was standing, there was a small church building in very bright Dayglo colors - red brick, a couple white pillars and white steps and steeple... but the door and windows were all bricked up with cinderblock. All things considered, not the best place to be stuck in.

Finally, the Bible mentions several Judgments, and I think this is the rather temporary first. I should think that it won't feel temporary. After what I would think would feel like an eternity of an internal burning and yearning, there are other times of Judgment to follow, wherein EVERYONE will eventually be judged by their works. Quite the enigmatic conundrum in the light of God's Grace, eh?

So, the question to be answered by Born Again Bible Believing Christians is, "How'd I do completing the works of God which He had prepared for us to do?" Note not our own attempts at being "good," but at completing His work...

--

--

D L Henderson

Born 1950; HS 1968; Born again 1972; Cornell ILR; Steward, Local President/Business Agent; Husband, father, grandfather; winner/loser/everything in between