D L Henderson
1 min readMay 9, 2023

--

I used to challenge God, demanding His response, as I was in the dark as to why He allowed evil in the world, etc, etc. I don't remember challenging your right to question. Besides, let me remind you that you never gave me an answer as to your definition of "good." (The word "good" in MerriamWebster surprised me with a long list of connotations. Back then, my perspective on God being "good" opposed the realities of the world. Now, having been rescued from that world, my perspective is very different. From the beginning of time, or if you prefer, from the appearance of the Human Race, the world has gone to pot. Why do people - even those who do not beleive in God's existence - blame God for all the evils in the world, when all the evils originate with Mankind? Why is God not good and people are just being human and trying to get along with life?

I think you can find such debate is in the Bible texts. Two different perspectives, I'd say. Fpr example, people like David, the shepherd boy and king of Israel had the view that God was good through his many experiences of His goodness to him, while the last of the pharaohs did not hold that view, because their experiences were quite different. Different perspectives and different standards of judgment, I'd say.

--

--

D L Henderson

Born 1950; HS 1968; Born again 1972; Cornell ILR; Steward, Local President/Business Agent; Husband, father, grandfather; winner/loser/everything in between