D L Henderson
1 min readDec 27, 2023

--

If you and I met for the first time, and we began a metaphysical discussion with you expressing your persuasion that the Biblical God did not exist, I very well might ask the primal probative question, "Don't you believe in something bigger?" Then, I imagine you would go on with something similar to your essay. To which I would reply, "No, no, no. You misunderstand what I want to get at: I am persuaded through personal experience the existence of the truth presented in the Bible regarding Jesus, God the Father and the Holy Spirit.,, You see I worked it out backwards: God effected my life in a big way, and because I see that God created everything - the Universe, the Earth, and all Mankind - I deduce that God must be the "something bigger." Your ideas of the Universe's inception are simply unanswered questions even though you show great appreciation for its existence. Even the commonly accepted Big Bang Theory takes just as much "faith" and raises just as many questions as The Bible's Genesis account. The difference to me is the extent that God has helped me and saved me from myself creates the faith, in effect, postnatal, meaning subsequently and not before.

--

--

D L Henderson

Born 1950; HS 1968; Born again 1972; Cornell ILR; Steward, Local President/Business Agent; Husband, father, grandfather; winner/loser/everything in between