D L Henderson
2 min readNov 24, 2023

--

I've taken a little more time to respond in what I believe is our discussion... First, when you or I publish something publicly, my thinking is that we are looking for public reaction to whatever topic we write about. If not, the route that I would suggest taking is privately talking to a family member, a friend, a co-worker, an acquaintance, or an educated professional with experience and applied learning in the topic. Second, based on that viewpoint, I responded with the suggestion that she reevaluate her view with what is actually part of the scientific method: form a hypothesis and follow up with comparative testing to determine whether or not the theory is substantial. Third, I have come to assume that everybody understands that whatever I conclude is simply only my opinion - as is yours and everybody else's. Fourth, God created Mankind to have opinions, self determination, or free will (whichever terminology you prefer). Fifth, I try to use good judgment with at least some sort of facts obtained from researching whatever topic and what research I find to be truthful, realistic, and/or experiential in an existential way. Incidentally, you are using "judgment" as a legal terminology of crime and punishment, whereas I am using it as an intellectual exercise... and by the by, in my opinion, you are judging me and my words in a "condescending" and condemning way, as found in a Prosecutor's case in a Court of Law. However, thank you for "cutting me some slack" regarding my intentions. Finally, I did not dismiss her experience out of hand but rather acknowledged it by offering another person's experience... my own. Nevertheless, thank you for your responses, because I, for one, yearn for discussion, opposite the inclination of social media in these troubled times. (Note: Early on I realized that online is a very difficult way to communicate, because there is no voice inflection, no visual facial indicators, and no concrete understanding of the definitions for words we commonly use.) Thank you once again for your time and effort and consideration.

--

--

D L Henderson

Born 1950; HS 1968; Born again 1972; Cornell ILR; Steward, Local President/Business Agent; Husband, father, grandfather; winner/loser/everything in between