Sales Department, Please

D L Henderson
4 min readJul 21, 2019

--

Everybody is trying to sell something. Straight up: I’m trying to sell to all of you something, too.

Everything on the internet is a sales platform. Every site you go to is information collected to form a basis of your interests which is used to tailor a sales program specifically for you. Then, in various ways, perhaps pop up ads, maybe email, certainly those ads on the right side of Facebook, all come from this collection of gathered information we so naively post about ourselves and about our friends and families. By the by, whether friend or foe, the information exists for all to harvest.

If you are like me, you may feel you have nothing to hide, but maybe your friends or family members are much more concerned with their privacy…and perhaps are therefore much more the wiser…

So, everybody is trying to sell something. For example, and this is a big one, Politics. It’s big and growing bigger every moment. Also, as it turns out, everybody is a Politician these days. On Facebook, for instance, the rapidfire postings are nearly impossible to keep up with. I’m not a speed reader. So,

it is impossible for me. Anyways, it’s all about the money for good or bad.

What is the biggest problem for me is this: I joined Facebook to talk to and with people. What I actually got are these lifeless “memes” from strangers. Propaganda, whether factual or baseless, unresearched or purposely misleading, sourced or unsourced, somebody is trying to sell me something. My question: At what price?

Time, for one. Brain tissue, another. Emotional endurance. What else? Indirectly our hard earned income, if the sales angle is for selling stuff. You know, that old demon Materialism, buying stuff we don’t really need or even want. (A good salesman can sell you the shirt off your own back!) As for me, and as a consumer, I’ve been burnt many times. So, I want to buy stuff from people I know and trust.

Nevertheless, on Facebook, my hope was to reconnect with old friends, as I was absent for about five decades. To my shock and awe, instead, my hopes were dashed, because everybody was trying to sell me something, and 99% was Politics. Unfortunately, it wasn’t their own persuasion, reasoning, or discussions but a flood of prefabricated propagandized crap that I would then have to research, never being able to go to its source, very wary of clicking on an unknown source (in politics, perhaps a Russian meme?) allowing virus or malware infecting my computer. No thanks. And I didn’t want to overloadmy poor brain with a lot of b.s. Again, I want to talk to you, not your meme!

Now that I’ve said all that…Okay. What am I selling? Apologies, for one. And what do I get out of it? Forgiveness, for one. Maybe friendships renewed, for another. New friends, perhaps. Those are priceless…but what am I really selling?

I am trying to sell everyone a personal relationship with Jesus of Nazareth. A relationship as true and real as the relationship we have with loved ones, both family and friends.

I’m not trying to sell you Religion. I’m trying to sell you a personal relationship. I know it’s hard to believe, but if I can obtain that relationship, everybody can. It’s free to us but was at the expense of Jesus’ torture and death. And if you choose, you get eternal life from Him, too.

What do I get out of it? Treasure in heaven. So, yes, I definitely get something out of it…of course, but only if you buy it…And what is that treasure I get? (And you get it, too.) It’s secret (hint: “all.”) is locked up in this song:

Sing the wondrous love of Jesus

Sing His mercy and His grace

In the mansions bright and blessed

He’ll prepare for us a place

When we all get to heaven

What a day of rejoicing that will be

When we all see Jesus

We’ll sing and shout for victory!!!

While we walk the pilgrim pathway

Clouds will over spread the sky

But when traveling days are over

Not a shadow, not a sigh

When we all get to heaven

What a day of rejoicing that will be

When we all see Jesus

We’ll sing and shout for victory!!!

Let us then be true and faithful

Trusting, serving everyday

Just one glimpse of Him in glory

Will the toils of life repay

When we all get to heaven

What a day of rejoicing that will be

When we all see Jesus

We’ll sing and shout for victory!!!

Onward to the prize before us

Soon His beauty we’ll behold!

Soon the pearly gates will open

We shall tread the streets of gold

When we all get to heaven

What a day of rejoicing that will be

When we all see Jesus

We’ll sing and shout for victory!

“When We All Get to Heaven” Songwriters: DON WYRTZEN, EMILY D. WILSON, E.E. HEWITT

© Warner Chappell Music, Inc., Universal Music Publishing Group

--

--

D L Henderson

Born 1950; HS 1968; Born again 1972; Cornell ILR; Steward, Local President/Business Agent; Husband, father, grandfather; winner/loser/everything in between