Strange but True

D L Henderson
3 min readJul 2, 2022

--

From my strange but true files comes in my experience this rather unique story. I was neither aware that it existed, of being strange but true, or how delicate and brief friendships can be. Like ships passing through the night, I suppose.

On some Facebook political post many months ago, whatever it was, a woman commented and I agreed with what she said. So, I commented on her comment and sent a friend request, and we became pen pals.

The strange part is that I felt God pouring into my heart an overwhelming love from Him for her. Because of that overwhelming love, which I could not contain, I sat at my desk weeping for a few minutes. It was soon after that that I started waking up at four in the morning with the seeds of an essay in the soil of my mind. I was compelled to write. Still I had not made the connection that it was all for her benefit — until yesterday.

If you know me, you probably know that I am painfully slow on the uptake. So, you may not be surprised that just yesterday, I noticed that she was gone from my Facebook. She also had totally cut me off. Blocked. She put up the electronic barricades. I had no way of getting through. She had had enough of my jabbering, I guess. (But who hasn’t !?)

Okay. That was the strange part. The true part is that I no longer was awakened at four in the morning with an essay topic. Nothing. A total blank. Roll over and go back to sleep. Then was when I realized my inspired little ditties were all for her benefit. If anyone else got anything whatsoever from them, great. ( I know I did.) Why four a.m.? I pondered. Oh, yeah. About a six hour time difference, it was the end of her day and a farmer’s time slot for me. I had a chance to write undisturbed, and she could read undisturbed — if she wanted.

My handicap was twofold. First, I still don’t know how to talk to “girls.” Second, she had been hurt and/or offended by someone claiming to know Jesus.

Anyways, apparently I failed in the task I had received, accidently came across, or however you prefer to depict my experience. However, I know it was not a mere coincidence.

I am sorry she left, but she is an intelligent person and I can only wish her a happy Mothers’ Day. More importantly, I hope and pray hope that she will eventually receive the gift God has in store for her, in spite of me or not.

Now, I am certainly not the shepherd in the following parable. Jesus is. I would consider myself lucky just to be considered as the shepherd’s dog helping in His searching:

Jesus said, “What do you think? If a man owns a hundred sheep, and one of them wanders away, will he not leave the ninety-nine on the hills and go to look for the one that wandered off?”

So, now the dog goes back to the hills and lays down with the sheep while the Good Shepherd does all the shepherding, searching, and finding.

Strange perhaps, but still true..

***

As postscript, let me add a silly illustration trying to describe the dynamic and personal relationship a person can have with Jesus:

I believe the Buffalo Bills can win a Super Bowl with Josh Allen at quarterback. Some people believe God exists and Jesus can win the ultimate victory. I have no personal relationship with Mr. Allen. Some people have no personal relationship with Jesus. The Bill’s players have a with Mr. Allen. Some closer than others. Do you see where I am going with this? We just have to catch the ball and “run and not grow weary.” You can join into a personal and dynamic, a working relationship with Jesus. Your choice of course.

“Draw near to God, and he will draw near to you.”

--

--

D L Henderson

Born 1950; HS 1968; Born again 1972; Cornell ILR; Steward, Local President/Business Agent; Husband, father, grandfather; winner/loser/everything in between