D L Henderson
4 min readOct 16, 2023

--

Thank you for continuing the discussion and your patience. I apologize for the length of my responses but sometimes the topic's complexity requires it, and I could never write for a newspaper, could I !

I'll begin where you ended your last response where you stated Jesus did not suffer like we do.

"Father, if you are willing, please take this cup of suffering away from me. Yet I want your will to be done, not mine.” - Luke 22:42, NLT, and

"He prayed more fervently, and he was in such agony of spirit that his sweat fell to the ground like great drops of blood." Luke 22:44, (ibid)

Further, Philippians 2:6-8, NLT - "Though he was God, he did not think of equality with God as something to cling to. Instead, he gave up his divine privileges; he took the humble position of a slave and was born as a human being. When he appeared in human form, he humbled himself in obedience to God and died a criminal’s death on a cross."

The Greeks thought of the inner person as being the brain and other cultures like the Hebrew thought of it as the heart. Many Cultures give organs various dynamic qualities. For example, lily-livered, no stomach for it, real backbone, etc.) Nonetheless, my point is that different cultures have different descriptions, but they all seem to be aware that the inner person really exists. So, I agree that there are many concepts of the inner person, but they also often acknowledge that the inner person goes somewhere when the physical body dies. It seems to be often philosophically reasonable and instinctively seems to be a reality. Generally, Mankind is always reaching for a transcending, metaphysical, and existential reason for being.

I don't know how folks get along without some form of it - the reason for being, that is...

As for your advice that I should talk to others about their experiences, I have. For a prime example, at the little hostel where I was introduced to Jesus were young people like myself who had tried various paths and religions, but had found all to be dead ends and had been persuaded to follow Jesus. They all had been changed by the saving knowledge of Jesus and had received a living, pragmatic relationship with Him. My point in giving you this testimony is to give evidence as you continue to judge the case for believing. This small sampling, a microcosm for sure, is evidentiary to my experience. In addition, my Hippie-like living exposed me to many other examples. In other words, I have gotten around at least a little bit, but I am at a disadvantage since I have no idea who you have been talking to.

I'm sure many have had experiences in which they develop their particular mindsets. That is true from the time we are born into the world. A more benign experience is in following the exercise regimen of Yoga - without even thinking about the pagan religion from which it has developed. However, every exercise program has benefits, like quicker reflexes - both physical and mental. Otherwise, the great differences as found in religions - whether Eastern or Western, Northern or Southern - which is that they are manmade and therefore limited in scope and effectiveness. In fact the man made idols so intricately woven into may belief systems are, in the end, worthless.

Here's what one wise King in Bible history said about them: "They have mouths but cannot speak, and eyes but cannot see. They have ears but cannot hear, and noses but cannot smell. They have hands but cannot feel, and feet but cannot walk, and throats but cannot make a sound. And those who make idols are just like them, as are all who trust in them." - Psalms 115:5-8, NLT.

The difference between mere philosophical mindsets and Jesus, at least for me, is that Jesus has been so much more than a mind trip. He cleans me up inside and continually offers life changing advice, and most importantly, if I accept His advice, He has the power to actually give it form- both in my character and in my daily living and relationships with others..

My ending thought is that you should try talking to Jesus directly, honestly, and as patiently as you have listened to my writings to you.

I am working on a new essay for Medium called Reality and Redemption that should be available in a few days. My wife reads and edits all my essays for typos and more serious errors like not saying what I mean to say... and I use an Englishman's voice on an audio reader app that makes me sound more intelligent than I am... So, it does take some time...

--

--

D L Henderson

Born 1950; HS 1968; Born again 1972; Cornell ILR; Steward, Local President/Business Agent; Husband, father, grandfather; winner/loser/everything in between