D L Henderson
2 min readMay 4, 2024

--

Way back in the Early Stoner Age of the 60's and 70's, I fell into the category of 'Marijuana as an Entry Drug.' (I could argue that my journey into the Drug Culture began with coffee or "the pill that mother gives you" - the cuddly White Rabbit from Jefferson Airplane.) In HS I was depressed to the point of actually attempting suicide. A friend introduced me to pot to get me out of my darkness... We must have smoked half his stash when he asked if I was getting off, because he "was stoned out of his mind..." After a couple more joints, I finally started to giggle, then laugh at pretty much anything and everything... Further down the rabbit hole, hash, LSD, and in Berkeley, anything the chemist was making.

Today's chemical THC concentration I read is 30-40% - 10 times the concentration of Acapulco Gold I used to smoke... Anyways, what I've learned since about even that low dose marijuana is that it widens the gap between the connection gap of nerve cells and shrinks their insolation. The result is bioelectrical currents are short circuiting and not transferring their impulses well.

It's not the CBD's, and whether or not it is physically addictive it "fucks you up," and I always wanted more - even though I had stopped laughing many days before. In hindsight, I wasn't walking a very progressive or intelligent life's and if I had ever had any goals, they had disappeared: Getting stupid and staying stupid was my daily life... chasing the promised phantom of paradise, but, instead, closing in on oblivion's emptiness...

Now, if you would like to know how it all resolved, I'm on FB too.

--

--

D L Henderson

Born 1950; HS 1968; Born again 1972; Cornell ILR; Steward, Local President/Business Agent; Husband, father, grandfather; winner/loser/everything in between